Siew Mai – Dim Sum for beginners

siewmai1.jpg

Dim Sum is a favourite cantonese “snack” of mine. They come in small portions like those spanish tapas. You can never have enough of these cantonese foodies as they come in small baskets of variety and in many flavours. There’s sweet, …

sorry! We have moved. Please check masaksedap.de for the more details

 

, ,

  1. #1 by moveablefeast on August 21, 2007 - 1:32 am

    Nice recipe. Do you have any Asian recipe books you’d recommend? I’m looking to buy a good Chinese (Sichuan) book and I’m thinking of going with a Fuchsia Dunlop book. What are you thoughts?

    Phil
    http://moveablefeast.wordpress.com

  2. #2 by Sunkid on August 21, 2007 - 9:57 pm

    Hey Phil, the Fuchsia Dunlop book has gotten good recensions, so I’d say go for it. I cook pretty mixed between chinese, indonesian and thai. My fave books are “Südostasiatische Spezialitäten” from Rosalind Mowe (in german) and “Thai Street Food” from Vatch. Basically, I follow my taste buds and year long experiences. If you’re all up for Sichuan, don’t forget the “chicken with dried chillies” It’s a must 🙂 hmm, you just gave me an idea…

  3. #3 by jeena on September 26, 2007 - 5:11 pm

    Hi there you have a great blog,lovely recipes. Feel free to visit my blog too 🙂 Click Here For Food Recipes

  4. #4 by Happy cook on September 27, 2007 - 4:26 pm

    Love the dim sum. They are my favorite

  5. #5 by Rasa Malaysia on September 28, 2007 - 1:00 am

    These siu mai looks so delicious. I made some recently, but using chicken…if you are interested, you can check it out here.

  6. #6 by Deborah Dowd on September 28, 2007 - 1:49 am

    Delicious looking recipes! Since my family loves Asian food I know I will be back again and again!

  7. #7 by ana on October 17, 2007 - 9:25 pm

    love this! i can not wait to try it. dim sum is one of the things I have really missed when i moved from the San Francisco bay..

  8. #8 by Confuse on October 26, 2007 - 8:02 am

    Can anybody help me how to make sure that my siew mai are fresh all day long when i serve to customers? At the moment, i know that my siew mai are not fresh when they are already in the steamer for several hours. How did other restaurants manage to make sure that their siew mai are not overcook? It tastes odd when they are overcooked, like too much water inside already from the steam.

  9. #9 by Sunkid on October 30, 2007 - 5:32 pm

    @Confuse: Hi, DimSum should be steamed and eaten immediately. You could prepare the dumplings and cover them with a plastic foil and refrigerate a few hours before. Then steam just before serving.

  10. #10 by TSwain on February 2, 2010 - 9:33 am

    Hey very nice blog!!….I’m an instant fan, I have bookmarked you and I’ll be checking back on a regular….See ya

  11. #11 by Robert Shumake on February 2, 2010 - 5:32 pm

    Super-Duper site! I am loving it!! Will come back again – taking your feeds too now, Thanks.

  1. Spa In Singapore

Leave a Reply

